Region’s Top Athletes Honored at the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

James Crosby | 5/10/2013, 8:29 p.m.
Greater Cleveland Sports Commision

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Northeast Ohio’s top athletes were honored at the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards on Thursday evening at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Grand Ballroom. The night featured many of Cleveland’s top sporting celebrities entertaining a sold-out room of more than 1,250. ESPN personality Scott Van Pelt emceed the event.

Nominees for the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards were selected by members of the Cleveland media, with winners being selected via a vote of the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards Committee.

Professional Athlete of the Year

WINNER: Kyrie Irving Cleveland Cavaliers

Phil Dawson Cleveland Browns

Anderson Varejao Cleveland Cavaliers

Amateur Athlete of the Year

WINNER: Tianna (Madison) Bartoletta USA Track & Field

Margot Shumway USA Rowing

Justin Harry Lester USA Wrestling

Collegiate Athlete of the Year

WINNER: Kent State University Baseball

University of Akron Men’s Soccer

Kent State University Football

High School Athlete of the Year

WINNER: Mitch Trubisky, Football Mentor High School

Damon Washington, Football Kirtland High School

Justin Fritts, Basketball Mentor High School

Former Cleveland Browns offensive lineman and current radio broadcaster Doug Dieken received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his long-standing commitment to sports in the Cleveland community. Browns owner Jimmy Haslam and former Browns player Eric Metcalf presented Dieken the award.

Molly Miller was the recipient of the Courage Award presented by Cleveland Clinic Sports Health. Molly lost her father to cancer in 2009 and was then also diagnosed with cancer a little over a year later. Molly has defeated the disease and returned to the playing field, making the varsity soccer team of Notre Dame Academy as a freshman. New Browns head coach Rob Chudzinski, a longtime friend of Molly’s late father, presented Molly with the award.

The show was capped off with Don King and Gary Waters presenting the Horseshoe Casino Cleveland 2012 Best Moment in Cleveland Sports. The award was given to Mentor High School head football coach Steve Trivisonno and St. Ignatius head football coach Chuck Kyle in honor of their teams’ OHSAA Division I triple overtime playoff game.

Chris Wilk, Executive Director of the American Collegiate Hockey Association, was given the Sports Development Gold Medalist Award. The award is given to a person or persons who have greatly assisted the Sports Commission in attracting and hosting events.

Mike Corfias won the 2013 Golden Ticket raffle and will receive two season tickets to the home games of the Cleveland Browns, Cavaliers and Indians for the rest of 2013. Entries were $100 each and a maximum of 300 entries were sold.

Other award presenters were: Chris Grant (Professional and High School Athlete of the Year), Byron Scott (Professional and High School Athlete of the Year), Urban Meyer (Collegiate Athlete of the Year), Harrison Dillard (Amateur Athlete of the Year) and Frank Shorter (Amateur Athlete of the Year).